Socially Awkward Vol. 2

Here is volume 2 to my quasi-screenplay Socially Awkward. I hope you enjoy. IamMisplaced

Stuart walks into Rutherford’s and does a quick scan of the room looking for Chloe. He finds her, sitting by the window clutching a cup of coffee with two hands. He slinks his way around the empty chairs of the coffee shop. As soon as Chloe notices him, she smiles and brushes the hair away from her eyes. Stuart sat down in the chair opposite Chloe. “Hey Stu, thanks for coming by.” Stuart noticed that her eyes were red, “No problem, is something wrong?” Her upper lip began to tremble and a tear ran down her cheek. “Yes,” she said in a wavering tone, “I broke up with my boyfriend today, right before I saw you at 7-11.” Stuart didn’t know how to respond, he’s never dealt with a break-up before. “Oh, I’m sorry…” Chloe reached across the table for his hands. He didn’t know what to do. A couple of seconds passed until he responded, “Don’t worry, it’s going to be okay. Let’s just calm down, finish our coffees and then we’ll go out for some fresh air, okay?” “Okay,” she said, the trail of tears slowly coming to a stop. She took a sip of her coffee and looked back at Stuart. Stuart broke the silence, “Okay, let’s take a walk.”
They walked down the street, side by side, hearing only the crickets of the summer night. Stuart suggests that they go to the park and talk things out a bit more in a private place. Chloe agrees. They walk to the park and sit down in the gazebo. “Okay, let’s talk things out.” Chloe straightens up and takes a deep breath. “Okay, well, we started dating a year ago. We met in Chem class as lab partners. He made a joke and I laughed, and before I knew it, we were going out. About two months ago, things became pretty serious and I wanted to take things to the next level, but he wasn’t ready. I was fine with that up until today. I walked into his house and no one was there. I walked up stairs to his room and I heard groaning coming from his room…” Stuart felt a tad awkward, but pushed through, “I opened the door and saw him…” She started to sob, “…having sex with my best friend!” Stuart wasn’t sure what to do with this, so he said the first thing that came to mind. “Oh my god, I’m so sorry.” He reached over to give her a hug, expecting her to deny his request. She reached out and pulled him in tighter. After a couple of seconds, he pulled away and Chloe continued, “Well, I stood there for a couple of seconds, and then I just bolted and ran down to the 7-11 and then I saw you.” Stuart looked into her eyes, realizing what she just went through. “I’m really sorry, I can’t believe this happened to you. You know what, he’s a dick. Just forget him, you’re too good for him! You’re beautiful, you have a wonderful personality, your smart…” “Oh, you’re too kind.” “It’s true!” More silence passed. Stuart put his arm around her shoulder. Chloe brushed her hair out of her face. He reached in for a kiss and, once again, expected to be denied. But, he was, once again, accepted. They locked lips. Some time passed before they unlocked. Stuart broke the awkward silence after the kiss. “And now I know you’re a wonderful kisser.” Chloe laughed, “You’re not so bad yourself.” Chloe got up, “Come on, I wanna take you somewhere special.” Stuart smiled and stood up.

A black screen pops up with the time “10:00 PM”

P.S. I just joined Vimeo and decided to add a video I made 6 months ago. It’s an extremely short stop motion thing. Enjoy.

Labbit’s Day Out from Charlie Beck on Vimeo.

Creative Commons License
Socially Awkward by Charlie Beck is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at iammisplaced.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/socially-awkward-vol-2/.